Posted by: designoriginals | May 4, 2011

Quilting – A Family Tradition

On the road again…

Debra and I just returned from a road trip to Southern Illinois over Easter weekend. And believe it or not, we are still married!  In the past we would drive the 12 hours to Illinois every year with our daughters and their dogs.  But the last few years, with airfare low, we would choose to fly into St. Louis, rent a car, and then drive the 2 hours to Randolph County. (both mine and Debra’s families live in Randolph County Illinois).  With this trip, the airfare was really high, and even though gas prices are over the top, we decided to drive.  Just Debra and I.  No kids and no dogs.  How did it go? Great!  I think Debra has learned over the years to sort of “tune” me out.

There were many reasons for this trip.  My mother, who recently broke her hip and spent 6 weeks in the hospital, turned 87 on Easter Saturday.  Debra’s Grandfather Fulton, who will be 92, was recently diagnosed with a serious illness, but is doing well.  My mother is doing pretty good,  still very weak, but is really getting around the house with her walker.  The weather was awful!  It rained everyday, with constant Tornado warnings for the area.  In fact, a major Tornado tore thru the St. Louis airport. (so I guess it was best we drove).  My mother and I talked, told stories, cried together, watched the St. Louis Cardinals on TV, and just visited for 4 days.  It was wonderful!

A few years back, my mother was diagnosed with Macular Degeneration of the eyes. Her eyesight gradually worsened and she had to give up doing what she loved to do, QUILTING. As far back as I can remember, my mother Anita, my aunt Lucille, my grandmother Block, and my great grandmother Sickmeyer, were all quilters. Going to my grandmothers home was always fun, because if she had a quilt in the wooden frame in the living room, that meant my cousins and I had a cool place to play under.  My mothers family, originally from Germany, have been hand quilting for generations. One of the traditions in our family was that every grandchild, boy or girl, would receive a quilt from their grandmother when they graduated from high school. What a treasured gift that quilt is for me today. My mother was so happy that she was able to finish both my girls quilts, before her eyesight forced her to lay down her needle and thread.

                                                                    The quilt Mom made for Jaylen.

                                                                      The quilt Mom made for Jourdain.

Quilting has been around for generations, and will continue to be around for generations.  Design Originals will be attending the Utah Spring Quilt Show in May.  This wonderful trade show features everything you will need to know about quilting.  The Design Originals booth will be featuring our new books and patterns.
Quilting is my family’s tradition, what is yours? No matter what it is, traditions are for families to pass down from generation to generation.
Until next time,
Dean


Responses

  1. Nobody could quilt like your mom, that’s for sure!

  2. Great post thanks for sharing. You have a great layout here. Quilting is something I really enjoy doing. It passes the time and is very relaxing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

